Review of New Awesome Daily Devotional for Teens: Izzy’s Pop Star Plan by Alex Marestaing

I got the book “Izzy’s Pop Star Plan” by Alex Marestaing from publisher Thomas Nelson. This book is an awesome daily devotional for teens that can be read each day or all at once. Their tag is “a daily devo that reads like a novel” and that is exactly right!   This book in the form of a blog was extremely interesting, inspirational, and touching to both myself and my daughter. 

I was excited because the cover made it look fun and totally what a tween or teen would be drawn too. I couldn’t have been more right. As I started reading it, my seven-year-old daughter wanted to check it out. As I explained to her that the character in the book, Izzy, has wanted to be a pop star since she was six and that the book is a compilation of blog entries about her journey making it on and being on an international singing challenge kinda like our own American Idol, she was hooked and so was I. I was glad because these journal entries are full of all the emotions someone this age would go through and the challenges that come with life and decisions.  Highlighting these highs and lows, the book gives insight through the character’s eyes by using a bible verse that pertains to the certain post of the day, as well as a prayer and meditative thoughts from the character as she keeps to her values. All in the words of Izzy. It is really cute how at the end of each blog post, there are comments from the most important people in Izzy’s life. I felt the book was so inspirational, even to me as an adult, on pursuing our dreams and pursuing them in a way that is right for us. This blog is a great devotional and a great teacher for young adults. The social network aspect to the book allows teens to go to YouTube blog posts during the book, and the website www.izzyspopstarchallenge.com is full of fun things to do and is very cute with bright colors and funky graphics. You can even follow Izzy on Facebook and Twitter. There will be a second book, and I can’t wait to get it for my daughter! This daily devotional book is a MUST for any teenage girl who wants to grow in Christ.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Review of New Awesome Daily Devotional for Teens: Izzy’s Pop Star Plan by Alex Marestaing

  1. I reviewed this book as well. It really was a great book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

