Night Night Blessings, by Amy Parker, Perfect for Your Little Ones for Bedtime

Night Night Blessings, by Amy Parker, was a joy to read with my precious four-year-old before bedtime. It’s one we’ll read often as we prepare to snuggle down to bed and say her prayers. It reminds children to be thankful to God for all the small things in their lives, that truly are the BIG things they’ll always remember as they grow older.

The illustrations were soft and serene, pastel colors and soothing strokes of the art, which made for a well-rounded book for nighttime.  Reading it in e-book form, I can only imagine how beautiful and “dreamy” they will be in board book form.  The poetry, though not completely rhyming as you might think it should and though not flowing particularly well off the tongue, still was sweet in thought and might be just as a small child would think of his or her memories of the day and what they might be thankful for. It teaches gratitude to the child in a way they will understand.

From family time to favorite toys, my favorite line was “Thank you for oceans to explore, In my big ol’ bubble bath. Oh, the amazing things we see–Just me and my snorkel mask.” It’s perfect for boys and girls, both.

I have a Kindle app on my smartphone, which I use sparingly as I prefer regular books, but this made it easy to read and view before bed. I would prefer to buy this for my child as a hard back board book that they can hold and keep by their bedside for years to come.

*************

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Children and Family

Leave a Reply

