What? Little Red Riding Hood Was Rotten? New Children’s Book Reviewed

When I spotted the children’s picture book called Honestly, Red Riding Hood was Rotten: The Story of Little Red Riding Hood as Told by the Wolf by Trisha Speed Shaskan, I knew I had to read it!  It’s my favorite of all the fairy tales.  Of course my little four-year-old LOVES fairy tales too and we try to read every one we can find.

My daughter and I sat down to read Honestly, Red Riding Hood was Rotten and we laughed right from the very beginning and all throughout the book. My daughter loved hearing the tale of Red Riding Hood from another perspective.  Seeing as she loves this time of year due to apple picking, my daughter also thought it was quite hilarious that the wolf was an apple lover (being a vegetarian) and only got hungry because it wasn’t apple harvest season. She picked-up right away that the illustration of Red Riding Hood made her look like a round red juicy apple. In fact, the illustrations by Gerald Guerlais are AMAZINGLY fun, modern and well-done and add to the humor of the story. The references to apples throughout the book are so original and the prose adoring and humorous. For instance, Granny dressed up like a Granny Smith apple was fantastic.

The book also taught about not being so arrogant and full of yourself, as Red Riding Hood was in the story. She was so rotten (like a rotten apple!) that readers probably will start pulling for the wolf and not even mind the ending! It was a shorter fairy tale than the original, but less scary and dramatic and more laughable. My daughter and I loved it so much that when she said “Read it again,” I certainly didn’t mind. I would love to have this book on my shelf in our library and am looking forward to checking out the rest of the series.

It was wonderful how the book ends with some discussion questions, recommendations for more reading, and good websites for kids. I thought that was a great added touch to the book, especially to continue my little one’s education as I pre-school her from home.

This book is part of a NEW series by Capstone Publishers called The Other Side of the Story series. The books in this series are fractured fairy tales (classic fairy tales reconstructed) and tell the story from the side of another character in the book.

For more information, go to Capstone’s website:  http://www.capstonepub.com/product/9781404866737.

*******************
A digital ARC was made available to me from Capstone Publishing. All opinions are my own, they only asked that I read and give an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Children and Family

Leave a Reply

