What 5 Books Would You Choose If World Was Eaten by Zombies?

Ok, Zombies TOTALLY freak me out and I almost didn’t click to see what this challenge was even, but I did so here we are. A cool way to think about books from our Read-a-Thon co-host April, thank you!! Check out the mini-challenge here:  http://www.myshelfconfessions.com/posts/wwrat-challenge-zombie-apocalypse/. It goes until 10 p.m.EST today (Sunday).

The Scenario:

In the event of a Zombie Apocalypse you are forced to take shelter with family and/or friends for a period of no less than 5 years. You have time to pack some supplies and some extra things to keep yourself entertained. However, since there will be many people sharing the same space, space will be limited and you are told you are only allowed to bring up to 5 books.

What books would you pack to sustain you? If you want to go a step further you can give a reason why you would choose the books you chose.

Please answer the challenge in the comments – even if you answer them on your blog too, please leave the 5 books you would choose in the comment section and feel free to ALSO link your blog post.

We couldn’t decide as a family 5 books total. A big argument ensued and everyone wanted to just die and let the zombies take them instead of choosing together. NO, really. It was a big deal. So we are doing five each.

Here goes with our list:

Tim~
The Bible
How to Survive a Zombie Apocalypse, by Nick and Michael Thomas
Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Arthur Conan Doyle
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy
Chronicles of Narnia: The Collector’s Edition, by C.S. Lewis

Erin~
Collection of Edgar Allen Poe
Devotionals for Women (any)
Rose Madder, by Stephen King
A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens
A Wrinkle in Time (the series in one collection preferred), by Madeline L’Engle

Addie (4 yr old)~
Princess Pig
Red Hat, Green Hat: Read Between the Lions
Thomas the Train (any)
Splat the Cat
Any Scooby-Doo, but likes the Werewolf Graphic Novel Scooby-Doo best

Emma (age 8)~
Pia the Penguin Fairy, by Daisy Meadows
Trixie the Halloween Fairy, by Daisy Meadows
Madeline and the Cats of Rome, by Ludwig Bemelmans
Illustrated Guide to Fairy Tales
Introducing Limelight Larry, by Leigh Hodgkinson (new favorite)

Nassem (age 12)~
Malabar Farm, by Louis Bromfield
Magnificient Desolation, by Buzz Aldrin
How to Start a Fire, and Other Things Your Grandfather Knew by Erin Bried
Abraham Lincoln: An Extrodinary Era
Any encyclopedia of the Solar System

So what do you think of our choices? If you aren’t part of the Read-a-Thon, leave in a comment below what you’d take? Would love to hear! If you are in the Read-a-Thon, please feel free to leave your link below to your choices.

Goodbye, World. 😉

8 Comments

Filed under Other blogs

8 responses to “What 5 Books Would You Choose If World Was Eaten by Zombies?

  1. All are definitely good choices! I especially love the choice of How to Survive a Zombie Apocalypse; seems like a great one. 😉

    I have trouble thinking about it myself o: Hmmm… I love so many different genres and series. I’d probably end up with:
    1) Obsedian Butterfly by Laurell K. Hamilton
    2) One Foot in the Grave by Jeanine Frost
    3) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
    4) City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
    5) Scandal in Spring by Lisa Kleypas

    Hahah, or something like that!

    Like

    • Great choices too Bex! I love so many fiction books I’ve read but I have issues with reading. I can hardly read anything twice! So I chose a few classics that I know I like to read each year or things that might give me positive hope in the time of possibly being eaten alive. lol!! I have so many books I love, it was hard to choose. I could list alot more!! Of course anything Harry Potter is excellent!

      Like

  2. Andrea

    What a fun idea, Erin!
    I’ve been making my What-five-books-would-I-pack-in-case-of-a-zombie-apocalypse list for a long time and was just waiting for someone to ask! 😉
    Well, Tim stole my first two books (The Bible and How to Survive a Zombie Apocalypse)…..really!
    My others would be:
    Anything by Tom Robbins
    Anything by David Sedaris
    A book of crossword puzzles (does that count?)

    Like

    • HI Andrea, thanks for popping over to my blog. This Wonderfully Wicked Read-a-Thon I signed-up for was lots of fun. All the creative and fun ideas for the mini-challenges were by other book bloggers and must give them all the credit and a round of applause! They did great coming up with this for us. I’m so glad you shared your book list. Tim did have 2 good ones. 🙂 Sure, I suppose a crossword puzzle book would give you something to do. hehe 🙂

      Like

  3. Those are some excellent choices – I love the diversity too between the ages. I’m so excited that you and others are doing this as a family, it totally rocks 😀
    Thanks for joining us for the read-a-thon, wouldn’t be the same without you, we appreciate all the participation we’ve gotten 🙂
    April @ My Shelf Confessiomns

    Like

  4. Andrea

    Erin,
    You should start a Book Club for kids. Wouldn’t that be cool? 🙂
    -Andrea

    Like

Leave a Reply

