Wicked Read-a-Thon: Updates and Views

I got up late this morning, when everyone else went to church. I was up too late trying to beat this congestion and also reading. I didn’t mind too much staying up to read though, of course. This is my first update, even though it is only Sunday. I spent too much time on Twitter with lovely book friends and posting challenges!! It wouldn’t change it though, it was fun and we all had the best intentions of getting more read, right? But you know us, we’d read no matter what anyway and it was just the talking about reading and chatting about books on Twitter that was the important part!

As I stated in previous posts, we’ve been doing it as a family affair. I’m 100 pages into House of Vampires by Samantha Rendle, a new teenage author found by Silverwoods Press and I have a blog review, interview, and give-a-way on my site coming up next week for the book.  I am also 150 pages into Shauna and Shelby Kitt and the Dimensional Holes by P.H.C. Marchesi, which is a sci-fi adventure full of lots of fun with parallel existence and other races. This will be featured on my site soon too. I’m also a few chapters in to Vanished by Sheela Chari, another magical and mystery oriented YA book I picked up at the library. It’s newly published. All are good in different ways and for different reasons.

 

 

 

 

 

My son has read Jefferson’s Sons, an over 300 page YA book of historical fiction about Thomas Jefferson (a founding father of the US) who had many sons and daughters with one of his slaves after the death of his wife. He thought it was very good, for a boy of 12 who says he “only reads adult non-fiction.” I’ve gotten him motivated to finally read some of the great YAs out there, but of course it has to still be historical in nature.

My better half, Tim (www.timbusbey.wordpress.com) is most of the way through The Bone House by Stephen R. Lawhead. He loves this books with the coding and ciphers. It’s the second in the series. I’m sure he’ll review at some point on his blog. The other book he is reading is End-Time Visions: The Road to Armageddon by Richard Abanes. I’m sure he is reading this non-fiction for research, as Tim is halfway through writing the first draft of his own thriller novel.

Now about the girls, Emma (my 8-year-old)  has a post-it-note up on her wall and she is updating her reading. She’s got a list of picture book type books of all genres that she’s read, or read to her little 4-year-old sister Addie. We have more to read today together too. Emma has also made progress on some chapter and YA books. I’ll save those for the wrap-up because I’m running out of time typing this blog. 🙂

I’ll hopefully post the challenge about photos describing the books you’ve read during the RAT later today. Sounds like fun! If you want more information, go here: http://www.thebookmonsters.com/2011/10/wickedly-wonderful-readathon-mini.html and thanks to The Book Monsters for having the mini-challenge.

We are all having fun reading as we usually do, but I think I am having the most fun visiting the other blogs and meeting all these fabulous new book friends from around the world! Amazing how books can bring so many together. I’ve had lots of fun Tweeting (#WWReadathon) and getting to know everyone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other blogs

Leave a Reply

