Wicked Read-a-Thon Final WRAP-UP Results

My family and I had a great time participating in the Wonderfully Wicked Read-a-Thon this weekend. We were allowed to read anything we wanted to (not just Halloween-themed or scary) which was good for the kids to participate. The co-hosts, Bex at Kindle Fever and April at My Shelf Confessions, really did a lot of work to put this on for everyone. There were great prizes too from Bex and April, as well as all the mini-challenge hosts. Lots of Halloween seasonal prizes and gift cards for books! That was SUPER nice!!!! xo

Many of us spent more time at the Twitter party (#WWReadathon) talking to one another about what books we were reading or had intended to read, as well as lots of other things. Getting to know each other was certainly a great time. We are all looking forward to staying in touch on Twitter (#WWReaders). I learned of a lot more new books I wanted to read and learned a lot from other book bloggers by perusing their blogs. Amazing people and some of them so young!! I am impressed by the level of work and maturity and so thankful to know so many other people who love to read and promote reading. It was my first read-a-thon so I didn’t have any prior knowledge about them or about other book bloggers even!

What I read~

So for our wrap-up, by the end of tonight I will have finished one book, The House of Vampires by Samantha Rendle, which is almost 300 pages.  I am done with 50% of Shelby and Shauna Kitt and the Dimensional Holes, which is about 200 pages in. I spent the rest of my time reading to my four-year old and sometimes my 8-year-old (she can read but sometimes it’s still fun to have mommy read to you). Tim got half of The Bone House by Stephen Lawhead done. I forgive him, he had to work his freelance job writing all weekend.

I also did all 7 challenges, many times with my kids and Tim helping. It was fun doing it all together.

Nassem, my 12-year-old was happy to bring me a pile of books to include in the wrap-up and I am proud of him! He’s a great reader of adult books, but it seems most of us have been on a YA streak lately. For me, it’s just how my reviews came in and for him, after my urging to pick up some new YA fiction and give it a try, he embraced it and tried some out.

Emma spent some time reading and kept herself a list in her room. She read Addie some, and read her others. Here is how it wound up by list below! Please give my kids a big standing “O” for their love of reading.

Nassem’s List of Completed Books (age 12):

1.) Jefferson’s Sons, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, 360 pages
2.) Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin, 150 pages
3.) Cleopatra: The Life of an Egyptian Queen, Graphic Nonfiction, by Gary Jeffrey and Anita Ganeri, 45 pages
4.) The Challenger Explosion, by Heather Adamson, 29 pages
5.) Roanoke The Lost Colony: An Unsolved Mystery from History, by Jane Yolen and Heidi Elisabet Yolen Stemple (this was a picture book with many words)

Emma’s List (Age 8)~She brought her post-it-note down for me so no authors included:

1.) Emily Windsnap and the Siren’s Secret, by Liz Kessler~Emma read a quarter of this YA.

~Shorter Ones:
2.) Trust Me, Mom!
3.) Kids Like Us

4.) The Gingerbread Man
5.) Polar Bears
6.) Astronomy and Space
7.) Dougal, the Garbage Dump Bear
8.) Madeline and the Bad Hat
9.) Introducing Limelight Larry

Addie’s List (age 4), I read to her and some from Emma’s list I read again to her (or read twice!)

1.) Madeline and the Bad Hat
2.) Introducing Limelight Larry
3.) Yum, Yum! What Fun!
4.) Scaredy-Cat, Splat!
5.) Pick a Perfect Pumpkin

We tried our best, through me having a cough and cold, a trip to the Pumpkin Patch, church, visit to grandparent’s house, feeding cats, and doing homework to get ready for Monday. I think the kids did great!! I had an excellent time reading, visiting blogs, doing challenges, and talking to fellow readers on Twitter.

Until the next challenge!! Please comment, I love conversation!!

3 Comments

Filed under Other blogs

3 responses to “Wicked Read-a-Thon Final WRAP-UP Results

  1. Way to go! You and your kids did a great job. Multiple shiny gold stars for your kids, you must be so thrilled and proud that they love to read. And big gold star for you for fostering that in them. 🙂 So great to meet you through the read-a-thon, and I’m glad we’re connected through Twitter and Facebook now! 😀

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’re past the half-way point! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

