50 Real Life Bible Stories of Heroes and Villains for Children

Do you remember learning the parables and stories of The Bible from when you were a child? Wishing there was an easier way to read these marvelous stories to your children today?

I review for the publisher Thomas Nelson and when I received the book Heroes and Villains of the Bible from Tommy Nelson, their children’s division, I knew this would be a great shelf keeper for my children.

For those of you, like me, who faithfully attended Sunday School, I bet you remember those little flannel story boards and activities that taught us about David and Goliath, Joseph and his brothers, Noah, Moses, and more. Their acts of bravery, selflessness, and courage have helped us get through the roughest of times. I am happy to be able to teach my children about these amazing real life characters, because at the least, they are a foundational part of our history.

These 50 true-life stories are all given to us in their biblical text, with cool pages, fonts, and graphics that are appealing to children. I think it is a great idea to repackage these stories in a format that encourages readers and reluctant readers alike. With all the heroes and villains our society is enthralled with today from the pages of comic books and Star Wars legends (which I love also by the way), this book compiles for me a wonderful way to teach my children about these real life people who helped change our history, overcome amazing odds, and shape our lives.   The best part is that it teaches children good versus evil in the greatest fight of all, the one in where we choose good in our lives and let God be our hero.

I thought the four-color digital images were vibrant and engaging. The story introductions allowed for some background while actual Bible text told these timeless stories the way we all remember. Thoughts for discussion at the end of each story help to relate the stories to situations in real life today.

For any Christian who wants to add to their children’s library, this is a great book and tool. As well, even from a historical perspective, this book adds a lot of value to a child’s shelf.

********************************

I received this book free from the publisher through the review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

