What I’m Reading and Summer High Read-a-Thon News! #HSreadathon

*UPDATE: FINAL WRAP-UP INSERTED 07/23-12*
I am just adding a paragraph as my final update to the report I blogged the other day about the High Summer Read-a-Thon since pretty much I had rounded up my week already in the update below. I spent time with my family on Saturday, since they were here from Kansas and went to Cleveland (an hour from me) on Sunday to see Deborah Harkess speak.  I didn’t really spend much time reading and the little bit I did, I read more of Evil Eternal by Hunter Shea which I was in the middle of at my report.

My friend Michelle from True Book Addict has been hosting a High Summer Read-a-Thon (RAT) since Monday. Of course, I signed-up right away, but the week has completely went by without me even realizing it for many different reasons. I’ve read, just not posted. Sorry Michelle!

You had to join by tonight (Friday, 11:59 CST) to participate (I joined at the beginning of the week) so I can’t promote for you to do the read-a-thon, but you CAN follow along with what everyone is reading or check out the Twitter discussion by using the hashtag #HSreadathon. I know lots of other bloggers are participating and trying kick a few off their TBR list.

This week I read Submerged, by Dani Pettrey, which had been sent to me by Bethany House for review. It’s a christian suspense mystery with some light romance. It was a good light read for me since I’ve had a lot on my mind this week. I liked the element of russian history in Alaska that was featured in it. I finished that Thursday night and will review that soon.

I’ve also been reading Evil Eternal by Hunter Shea this week. Hunter is published by the Samhain Horror line-up of awesome writers and has been waiting patiently for me to review this. It was great to have a light read (Submerged) for the late night when I can’t sleep, since I have been reading this during the day and evening sporadically. It’s horror and though gruesome, the carnage isn’t bothering me too much. I am loving his trident wielding priest and the history that goes along with him. The pace is fast and detailed and I’m moving right along. I have it half done already.

Last night I came home smiles from our library book sale, with books like Anne Rice’s The Witching Hour and a John Saul book (after my author friend Brian Moreland recommended him as an author). However, I won’t get to any of those this week. I still have a massive TBR pile and though kid’s books aren’t allowed in this read-a-thon (WHY NOT?) I am reading PLENTY to my 5-year-old for her summer reading program list. And by the way, all the kids came home with a pile from the library sale too. Don’t you just love those older Charlie Brown Encyclopedias??

I digress.

I will keep reading Evil Eternal and also choose a new one. Some family is in town this weekend from out-of-state and on Sunday, DRUM ROLL PLEASE….I am going to go see Deborah Harkness, best-selling author of A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night, in Cleveland and get my book signed, listen to her talk, and then I’ll report back on my blog!!! I am super excited!!

Have a great weekend and best wishes on your reads this weekend. What are you reading?? What’s good?

9 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Read-a-Thons

9 responses to “What I’m Reading and Summer High Read-a-Thon News! #HSreadathon

  1. Anne Rice’s Witching Hour trilogy is definitely one of my favorites! Something I plan on rereading really soon! I’ve also never picked up John Saul, maybe I should try him out.

    And I would be dancing in my chair if I got to talk to her!! That is super exciting! I bet you’re going to have a ton of fun!

    Oh, I broke down and bought Shadow of Night. I couldn’t help myself. Haven’t started it yet sadly. But soon!!!! 😀

    Like

    • I keep hearing The Witching Hour is good! Brian says that Saul is one of his writing mentors. His books are a bit older now but look good. I am super excited to meet her, Nova!! Can’t wait. You should have tried to win first….silly. 🙂

      Like

      • No, no. Witching Hour is not good. It’s awesome! Must read it and tell me what you think! She can get a little heavy handed with the details sometimes but it didn’t bother me with that trilogy for some reason.

        And I know but I couldn’t help myself! It was on the shelf all pretty and saying BUY ME! You are going to have so much fun you’ll have to pinch yourself! I can’t wait to hear all about it! Living vicariously through you!

        I was looking at John Saul way back when I was really into Stephen King. I don’t really know why I never picked him up though.

        Like

      • HI Nova!! You know what is so funny, someone asked Deborah Harkness yesterday what her book faves are and she said The Witching Hour!! LOL! I don’t mind details in books usually, I am looking forward to reading it.

        I suppose for Deborah, the fact that her book called to you bodes well for her sales. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear what you think.

        Like

      • I’m definitely planning on reading it soon! I have so much on my to do list it’s ridiculous but soon!!!

        Like

  2. No worries, Erin. It has been a busy week for a lot of us. I did not get much chance to read during the week. Hoping to get some reading in the last day and a half. 🙂 If this is going to be your wrap up post too, I’ll be posting a linky Sunday night for wrap-ups. Just add your link there. Hope your weekend is going great!

    Like

    • Well as in my update I did read just didn’t have lots of time to blog updates or chat on twitter and completely forgot starting post!!! I think I did ok reading though.

      Thanks so much for hosting the event! Hope you got some good books at your library sale!

      Like

  3. Looks like you had fun meeting Deborah Harkness. I saw your pic on Facebook. Lucky you! Was she nice?

    Also, I’m hosting a write-a-thon in August or September. If you think you might be interested in participating, can you go vote in the poll over at The True Book Addict (top right sidebar)? Thanks!

    Have a great week, Erin!

    Like

    • I did have fun and she was very very nice. I am writing a blog about it and will also talk about some things she said about background of trilogy.

      I will try to remember when I am on computer next to vote but I can tell you I won’t do in August. It will need to be September for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

