Evil Eternal by Hunter Shea is Captivating, Action-packed Horror that’s a Thrill Ride Adventure

evil-eternal-coverHorror is one of my favorite all time genres to read….why?  Simply, because it thrills me!  It’s an escape beyond normal and one of the top authors that can write adrenaline pumping prose with pulse pounding scenarios is the author Hunter Shea. In his latest full-length novel, Evil Eternal, Shea pens a story he originally had intended to be  a comic book. What that means for us as readers is we get quick-moving, detailed, succinct prose that is so action filled we wouldn’t want to miss a word!

When I first was going to read Shea’s Evil Eternal he told me he thought it targeted twenty-something male gamers who chomp Doritos. As I’ve told him after reading it, I wouldn’t stereotype his audience (though I could see his point) because I am a thirty-something mother who really loved this book’s action and thrills (though I do chomp Doritos like they are going out of business)!!

Being an avid comic book lover, I could totally picture the adventure in my head, even the rich tones of the art as it might appear inked on paper. It was gruesome and blunt and Cain is certainly one demon I’d never want to encounter. Thankfully, in this novel we have the doomed for eternity Father Michael on our side. Shea does a wonderful job developing this character and drawing out his emotions and heart in a way that reminds me of the greatest of superheroes who have that vengeance punch. And I just love how he wields a trident.

I would totally recommend this book for those who like action and adventure, but don’t mind the horrible that sometimes comes with tales of good versus evil.  Don’t get me wrong though, this isn’t a usual tale of the sort, it is original and superb storytelling. Demons don’t mess around and neither does Shea. He writes raw material with perfection of pen. The pace is nail-biting and the ending makes your muscles lock up after a roller-coaster ride of terror.

Evil Eternal, Synopsis~

Only one priest can battle the ultimate evil!

An evil as ancient as time itself has arisen and taken root in New York City. Father Michael, the mysterious undead defender of the Church, answers the call to action from the Vatican, while Cain, a malevolent wraith that feeds on fear and blood, has taken the life and form of the city’s mayor and readies a demonic army to ignite the apocalypse.

With an unlikely ally, Father Michael will prepare for the grim confrontation as he grapples with his sworn duty to God and the shreds of humanity left beating in his immortal heart. The time is ripe for Cain and the fulfillment of dark prophecies. Father Michael must battle Cain and his horde of demons in a final showdown that could very well herald the end of mankind.

Giveaway of Signed Prints~

We’re giving away a few signed extra large post card print of the awesome cover of Evil Eternal. That’s right, they are signed by Shea. Comment below if you’d like one, leaving an e-mail so I can get ahold of you for address. Or e-mail me at hookofabook(at)hotmail(dot)com.

And Finally…..

I can’t wait to read more of Shea in the next few years. Published by the new Samhain Horror line of Samhain Publishing, there is much more to come. Stay tuned to my blog for an upcoming guest post by Shea on his new novella Swamp Monster Massacre, an interview with the terrifying yet terrific Shea, and I’ll get to reading his former Forest of Shadows in time to read the sequel coming in April called Sinister Entity.

Hunter Shea, Bio~

hunter-headshotI’m the product of a childhood weened on The Night Stalker, The Twilight Zone and In Search Of. Luckily, I’ve managed to make a love of all things ghostly and beastly into a career. It’s nice not to have to write for free anymore.

I’ve published several books and a slew of horror short stories over the years in magazines like Dark Moon Digest, Morpheus Tales, The Harrow, Tabard Inn, Deadline & Ethereal Tales, just to name a few. My latest novel, Forest of Shadows, is available through Samhain Publishing and their new horror line. Evil Eternal, what’s been described as Gran Guignol at its best and bloodiest, is available in e-book and paperbook format at many retailers. Swamp Monster Massacre, my newest novella, is also available in e-book format. Sinister Entity, a sequel to Forest of Shadows, is coming from Samhain Publishing in April 2013.

I’m also proud to be one half of the Monster Men podcast, where my partner in crime Jack Campisi and I talk about all things horror with our own, sarcastic twist. All horror and no humor makes Hunter and Jack dull boys.

Feel free to contact him anytime at huntershea1@gmail.com. Writing is lonely work. You can also find him on Facebook and avidly tweeting on Twitter with the handle @huntershea1.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews

One response to “Evil Eternal by Hunter Shea is Captivating, Action-packed Horror that’s a Thrill Ride Adventure

  1. Pingback: One Killer Interview with Author Hunter Shea, Master of the Paranormal Horror | Oh, for the HOOK of a BOOK!

Leave a Reply

