The Haunted Halls Volume 2 in Glenn Rolfe’s Suspense Horror Serial Keeps Momentum Moving!

A few months ago I reviewed Glenn Rolfe’s The Haunted Halls, Volume 1. If you haven’t read any of The Haunted Halls yet, see this first review, which will really give you a feel for how the serial novel starts. Read the review of Volume 1 HERE, then read the rest of this blog post to see my thoughts on Volume 2. Releasing every few months, Volume 3 is also now available for purchase!

The Haunted Halls, Volume 2, Review~

HH2 PICGlenn Rolfe’s The Haunted Halls serial reading pleasure has continued for me with Volume 2.  With many moments of terror and psychological twists seeping and flowing exquisitely around action-packed scenes, Volume 2 keeps the momentum going. Volume 1 really had me wanting to read more and I wasn’t disappointed with Volume 2 as it picked right up for me and kept me engaged in the story.

I am extremely anxious to read Volume 3 now because Volume 2 had just enough suspense and left just enough clues and questions to make me crazy for Volume 3.   If I had the entire book, I’d probably stay up way too late reading it, so at least Glenn is allowing me some rest in between, but the pace of the book is propelling me into grabbing the next installment as soon as possible!!

His characters are developing even further and we begin to see some of their intentions or sinister plans, while with others we feel just enough to wonder what will happen to or with them as the story moves on. I am suspicious of almost everyone. I think he did a great job of juxtaposing between the past (in the 1980s) and the present, integrating characters and leaving us trying to connect the proverbial dots. And he did leave us hanging on many occasions, which is also a great move when selling a serial.

Glenn has just enough suspense, especially in the past scenes, intertwined with some great action scenes, especially in the hotel and the pool room, to mesmerize me. I love the shape shifting succubus avenue, and at least for me, I feel as if I am reading something original.  His writing is clear, characters well-developed (some very evil and sinister), plot seems tight so far, and he has those great elements of soft and haunting coupled with bold, blunt and action-packed horror scenes.

Even though I may never be able to swim in a hotel pool again, it will be worth it to have gotten to read such a well-written, modern, and psychological horror tale.

I am eager to know what these characters are up to next and look forward to Volume 3!

Author Glenn Rolfe, Biography~

GlennGlenn Rolfe is an author from the haunted woods of New England. He has studied Creative Writing at Southern New Hampshire University, and continues his education in the world of horror by devouring the novels of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. He and his wife, Meghan, have two girls, Ruby, and Ramona. They currently reside in Augusta, Maine.

His short story, “Sins of My Past,” was published in December in “Paranormal Horror Anthology” (edited by Elle Pryor). His next short story, “Skull of Snakes,” is set to be published in October of 2013 in the anthology, “Coins of Chaos,” from EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing (edited by Jennifer Brozek).

 For all the latest news on Glenn Rolfe, check out his Facebook page:
http://www.facebook.com/glennrolfehorror

 The Haunted Halls, Synopsis~

HH1 coverWhat lies in wait at the Bruton Inn? Where did it come from? What does it want? People are checking in, but the little voices, the nightmares, the deep cold sinking into their marrow is changing them. What haunts these halls will alter those within its confines. Something big is unfolding, something dark- something evil. The haunted halls of the Bruton Inn welcome you. Checking in?

The Haunted Halls – A six part serial horror novel being self published throughout 2013. There are plans for a one book paperback version to be released in early 2014.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

