Happy New Year from Hook of a Book: Thoughts for 2014! #books

snoopy new yearReaders, Writers, Authors, Friends: Happy New Year 2014! I wish you all much love, peace, success, and plenty of reading for this new year. Always a fan of new beginnings, renewals, and starting fresh, the ushering in of January 1 always finds me reflecting on my past year and deciding what I can improve upon or work towards changing. What are you goals for this year for reading or writing? For your career or family? I’d love to hear.

In fact, one of my goals is to get you all conversing more with me here on my blog and on my Facebook pages. If you like to talk books, a great place to go other than my blog is www.facebook.com/HookofaBook or catch me on Twitter at @ErinAlMehairi.

I hope to finally get more head-way on the 4 books and 2 novellas or short stories I have in process so I can make time for the list of ideas for more novels and stories. I am obsessed with finding more time to write. So many of you have had plenty of advice on this, but when it comes down to it, with our life and family and my career and reading, I just haven’t made the time. And honestly, it takes me being a little more stress free to be able to write creatively. I envy the author friends I know who write productively, even better, while under stress. I do that in my marketing and journalism work as deadline writing is what I do, but not fiction. And honestly, for some of my books, the research does consume some of the free time.

At any rate, I’ve had the pleasure in my personal business, Addison’s Compass Public Relations, to work with many interesting people over the last four years. I’ve been working to take on more writing work to end out 2013, as well as add services for authors. My desire is for all authors to see that they are a BRAND, and therefore, must educate the public on their brand. I feel I need to go where my passions lie, so for me that is books, travel, photography, food, history, family, and health. It’s what I hope to write about and market for 2014.

With Hook of a Book, I have some great interviews coming up in the next couple months, a Facebook author party in the planning stages and to be announced, some pre-reading, editing, and marketing projects, and a whole bunch of reviews of books I’ve read but haven’t written about yet. Also, I’m super excited for some books to come out that I’ve had some sort of hand in, whether that be editing or pre-reading! You’re going to love them, I think! I LOVE to see a book come to life!

In addition, I’m looking for guest articles from authors, writers, and those in the business of books as well, so if you know anyone, spread the word! I also have some other plans that I am percolating in regards to Hook of a Book, so be sure to stay tuned.

This month of January, I’m going to try to write some Top Lists of 2013 posts. I’ve always wanted to make time to put some of those out and spread more love about the authors and books I enjoy!

My family had quite the year, with so many changes where at times it seemed nothing might go right. I am hoping that since I stayed positive most of the time, then 2014 will come out on the UP end! I am wishing the same for all of you!

It gives me great joy to read and talk about books and to be a part of many writing friendships. Drop me a line anytime at hookofabook(at)hotmail(dot)com if you have anything you’d like to discuss or just want to say hi!

4 Comments

Filed under Feature Articles

4 responses to “Happy New Year from Hook of a Book: Thoughts for 2014! #books

  1. KATHLEEN BIANCHI

    What an exciting year you have planned for yourself ! I wish you all the luck and I know you will have what It takes to follow through and complete your tasks. Just loved reading your blog and look forward to the next one, thank you so much for sharing yourself with the public.
    Good Luck
    Kathleen

    Like

  2. Congratulations on an informative and upbeat post to start off the new year, Erin. I loved it. And I’m most interested in a couple of items about which I’ll email you. Can you tell me how effective you’ve found the Facebook Author Party to be in the past? I’ve been invited to a few but always seem to forget or have something on.
    Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

