Cloaked in Danger, by Jeannie Ruesch, is a Historical Period Romance with Suspense and Adventure

Cloaked in DangerI am extremely picky about my romance novels, which is why I don’t often read them. But I’m still a hopeless romantic and if you give me a brimming love affair that’s done right, I’m happy to get lost in one once in a while.  Jeannie Ruesch’s Cloaked in Danger called to me once I saw the beautiful cover and read the synopsis! A historical suspense romance can usually be a really exciting book that keeps me turning the pages, especially if the character is cavorting in mansions in London and playing in the dirt in Egypt. I never mind trying something new and once I attended her book launch party and heard more about her book, I was sold on reading it. Jeannie has a lot of energy and is one classy and fun lady!

Her book was a refreshing new romance for me, just how I like them. Well-written, set in a historical place, and if they have a little mystery, or a woman who is figuring out what deals men are hiding, then I’m reading with delight. Jeannie accomplished this for me with her cast of characters, her independent and adventurous protagonist Aria and her foe Adam, who eventually turns his pursuit of her into passion. This is the kind of period romance suspense that you’ll read all in one sitting. Her dialogue is amazing. I feel it fit the period better than many romances I’ve tried and her writing is really funny too during the more adventurous parts, yet I could feel the emotion of her characters during the dramatic parts.

She writes her female lead exactly as I like them, spunky and with no fear when determined to find something out, yet how they always hold their fears and insecurities so close to the vest that eventually it all comes a halt. The underlying father, daughter relationship and how he changed her by not wanting to change her, gave the novel depth. In addition, when she deals with a very harsh life event, I like how at the end Jeannie shows that Adam will support her through her healing process.

I also like a romance that allows for sexual tension or romance to evolve between characters, but that doesn’t completely over-do it. I can imagine for myself if I want to and I think many times it comes off too corny if you try to write sex scenes for a mainstream audience. I enjoyed how Jeannie created attraction between them, but showed how they could stand on their own as well.

Her writing, again, is very good and her plot doesn’t drag.  Though set historically, the book feels very modern. This is a romance for the new woman, not the one wearing frilly lace (though she might enjoy it too I suppose). She is a new Regency romance voice, not one stuck in the 80s. The author’s energy shines through in her book as she keeps it moving. Personally, I enjoy any book with adventures that surround archaeology as well, so that was a huge plus for me. I would definitely read more of Jeannie’s books!

Cloaked in Danger, Synopsis~

Publication Date: January 27, 2014
Carina Press
eBook
ASIN: B00F93X7ZI

Aria Whitney has little in common with the delicate ladies of London society. Her famous father made his fortune hunting archaeological treasures, and her rustic upbringing has left her ill prepared for a life of parties and frippery. But when Gideon Whitney goes missing in Egypt, Aria must embrace the unknown. Armed with only the short list of highborn men who’d backed her father’s venture, she poses as a woman looking for a husband. She doesn’t intend to find one.

Adam Willoughby, Earl of Merewood, finds London’s strangest new debutante fascinating, but when he catches her investigating his family’s secrets, he threatens to ruin her reputation. He doesn’t intend to enjoy it so much.

When their lustful indiscretion is discovered, Adam finds that he regrets nothing. But now, as Aria’s father’s enemy draws near, Adam must convince his betrothed that she can trust him with her own secrets…before it’s too late.

Praise for Cloaked in Danger

“Cloaked in Danger has all the elements readers crave— larger-than-life characters, a vivid and believable setting, heart-pounding romance and just the right amount of mystery. Don’t miss it! It kept me reading deep into the night.” — New York Times Bestselling Author Brenda Novak

“In ‘Cloaked in Danger’ Jeannie Ruesch has crafted a taut, emotional thrill-ride through the streets of Regency London. Archaeological adventure and drawing room intrigue are combined in a story that will keep you reading late into the night. Jeannie Ruesch is an author to watch.” — RITA Award Nominated Author Elizabeth Essex

Purchase the Book

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Google

Author Jeannie Ruesch, Biography~

jeannieJeannie Ruesch wrote her first story at the age of the six, prompting her to give up an illustrious, hours-long ambition of becoming a Dallas Cowboy Cheerleader and declare that writing was her destiny. That journey to destiny took a few detours along the way, including a career in marketing and design.

Her first novel, a fairy-tale like historical romance, was published in 2009, but the darker side of life had always captivated her. So after a dinner conversation with friends about the best way to hide a dead body, she knew she had to find a way to incorporate suspense into her writing. (The legal outlet for her fascination.) Today, she continues writing what she loves to read – stories of history, romance and suspense. She lives in Northern California with her husband, their son and an 80 pound lapdog lab named Cooper.

She is also the creator of the WIP Notebook, a writer’s tool to help stay organized while you write, which you can find at her website. You can also follow her on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads and Pinterest.

cloaked book tour banner

I was given a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for honest review. Opinions are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews

One response to “Cloaked in Danger, by Jeannie Ruesch, is a Historical Period Romance with Suspense and Adventure

  1. Jerri kindig

    Your review here has really gotten my attention. Never been a big fan of period pieces, but love a great romantic suspense. But for some reason this one sounds pretty good. I have a great romantic suspense that is not the average romance and kinda dark but been excellent. It’s A Simple Soul by Vadim Babenko, I am really impressed by his writing. vadimbabenko.com is his site. His book Semmant looks good too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

