Books I Read in February and March

It’s time I put some more book reviews on this site again! I try to put my book reviews on my Instagram pages and GoodReads, then do a monthly round-up as well and include Facebook and Twitter in. That said, some of you might have seen these graphics or reviews previously there, but for some, it might give them a new book idea! I wish I could remember to put more reviews here, so I’m going to try harder.

March Reads –

First off, here are the books I read in March! All of these are five or four stars and excellent reads I recommend! This does not include books I read because I was editing them for clients, all the books strictly for award season, or magazines and other online reading. I’m trying to read as much as I can, but sure wish it was more, though I feel I’m reading all the time! You can find full reviews of all these on my GoodReads (under my name, Erin Al-Mehairi) or as I said, mostly full reviews on my Instagram posts under my name or on my newer book related @hook_of_a_book_reads Instagram page.

Recreational Panic by Sonora Taylor – I always love Sonora’s stories. This is fun short story collection full of original horror stories that range in length from poetry to flash to full short stories, published by Cemetery Gates Media. Sonora dabbles in similar themes here as in her other works: baking/cooking, bones, cannibalism, eco-horror, serial killers, obsessions. She also makes sure that she dabbles at least one “techie” story in. But all are unique and fresh tales. She still does her tell-tale Taylor move by giving us many endings that surprise and shock. You’ll need this one for a summer fun read.

The New Couple in 5B by Lisa Unger – Such an entertaining, page turning thriller that takes place in a restored, turn-of-the-century luxury apartment building in NYC, with hints of the supernatural. This will probably be one of my favorite reads of the year!

Island Witch by Amanda Jayatissa – This was such an excellent historical horror thriller! Amanda is becoming a must read author for me. This one had it all. Another one for the best of lists. I highly recommend!!

Alchemy of a Blackbird by Claire McMillan – This book was so unique, with chapters interspersing with tarot cards and their meanings based on each side character in the book, a part of their side of the story in relation to protagonist (the famous surrealist painter Remedios Varo) and time period, which is WWII. It’s about artists and friends like her and world-renowned surrealist painter Lenora Carrington, who escape from occupied Paris, who believe in magic/alchemy, art, dreams, culture, finding one’s self, enduring friendships, and so much more. It’s uniquely written. Frida Khalo even makes an appearance! Cleveland area’s own as Claire now resides in Ohio. This one will permeate my brain for a long time, plus it has had me looking up info on the real artists – Varo and Carrington!

January and February Reads –

I also wanted to include what I read in January and February here as well, though for the reviews, you’ll have to look on GoodReads or Instagram because I’m short on time to type them all here. All of these books are four or five star reads though, for various reasons, and ALL have amazing female leads and characters. Most, if not all, have some femme empowerment and interesting discussion points! I might have been on a thriller trend (might still be haha!). My favorite out of these was probably the other mothers by Katherine Faulkner (it’s her second novel and I loved her debut, too – Greenwich Park).

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to email me and let me know of any books you loved that should be on my radar. As always, I’m reading in spare moments when I am not editing books, writing my own stuff, doing mom duties, managing my health, helping my elderly parents, or corraling our menagerie of cats!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

3 responses to “Books I Read in February and March

  1. Wow! You’ve read got your reading eyes working well! Gotta love books, eh? I just reread To Kill a Mockingbird and loved it all over again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judith Starkston

    Some delightfully enticing books here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment